Where oh where is “The Venice of the North?”

Now I know that some of you know the answer to this right away (Darlene you will remain nameless)… however I am sure that I have stumped some of you….

This city is known as the Venice of the North due its many canals reminiscent of that “other Venice”.  This city is one of the best-preserved Medieval cities in Europe and a UNESCSO World Heritage Site.  It boasts intimate cobblestone streets and tons of public gardens.  The Belfry Tower in Market Square features an octagonal tower and the lovely music of a carilllon.

 Now, if I don’t want to visit this particular city on a full day tour I also have the option of taking a 3/4 day tour of the city of Ghent, Belgium.

Ghent is one of the oldest cities in Belgium dating back to the Stone Age. 

 The fact that Uniworld is offering two different almost full day tours is great for those people that may have taken this cruise once already.. they can repeat the cruise and not repeat the sights!  (Unless of course they want to).  This I can take advantage of once we end the cruise in Amsterdam since I was just there in November on my river cruise from Basel Switzerland… since I have already done a canal cruise and city tour last time I am going to be taking a tour of the Van Gogh Museum (thinking of buying some artwork for the living room…  ha ha)

So… any guesses as to the Venice of the North?  Come on now… life is so much easier now that we can Google everything!

Don’t forget to “follow” my blog.. I think that you can click on something that will send you an email anytime I update it… again, I know I should know these things but hey, I do have to work occasionally!

About Champagne Vacations

Owner of Champagne Vacations and Travel Consultant for almost 20 years. If I can't go myself, I will send you there!
This entry was posted in A little of this....., Europe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where oh where is “The Venice of the North?”

  1. Oh oh… I just Google Vencie of the North and apparently lots of European cities want to call themselves that… disregard St. Petersburg.. don’t think my ship is going to hop from Belgium to Russia… also disregard for the purpose of this post Amsterdam.. sure they have lots of canals and I am going there on this trip this isn’t the city I was referring to… okay… I think that will cover the other “major” Venice of the North Googlers…

  2. Now, if I don’t want to visit this particular city on a full day tour I also have the option of taking a 3/4 day tour of the city of Ghent, Belgium.

Leave a Reply

